Skip to content
Founding offer: 50% off your first 6 months, and a 14-day free trial with no card needed.20 of 20 places left.Claim a place

Tilly or BT AI Receptionist?

BT Business sells AI Receptionist, built with RingCentral, to small and medium businesses. Here is how it compares with Tilly, using only what BT says on its own website.

BT Business may suit you better if

you already buy your business phones from BT and want one supplier, want as many AI receptionists as you need on one account (BT says unlimited), or would like a set-up session with its partner (£150, one-off).

Tilly may suit you better if

you want to see the price before you buy, start a 14-day free trial online today with no card, and pay by the call rather than by the minute, with email alerts on every plan and text alerts on Pro and Business.

Tilly
BT Business
Price from
£29 a month
Not stated on its page: sold in 100-minute bundles
On the cheapest plan
40 calls a month, then 50p a call. Sales calls are not counted
Bundles from 100 to 14,000 minutes a month, billed on calls received
Free trial
14 days, no card needed
Not stated. You can book a free demo
Contract
None. Monthly or yearly, cancel online
Monthly rolling
UK phone number
Included, local or 03
Not stated
Keep your own number
Yes, free: forward all calls or only the ones you miss
Not stated
Appointment booking
Pro and Business, checks your Google, Outlook or Apple calendar before booking, and sends each booking to it
Yes, books appointments and meetings
Alerts to you
Email on every plan, texts on Pro and Business
Not stated
Call summaries and transcripts
Every call: summary and transcript. Recordings are an add-on, £5 a month
Transcribes calls
Voices and accents
29 voices in 9 British and regional accents, including native Welsh speakers
Not stated
Learns from your website
Pro and Business, from your website or documents
Yes, from your website, FAQs or documents
Human receptionists
No, AI only. Urgent calls are transferred to you
Routes calls to the right person in your team

BT Business facts from their website, checked 15 October 2026: AI Receptionist and FAQs, AI Receptionist for SMB leaflet. We are not VAT registered, so our prices have no VAT to add. "Not stated" means we could not find it on their website, not that they do not offer it.

How much does BT AI Receptionist cost?

BT's AI Receptionist page does not show a monthly price. It says the service is sold in 100-minute bundles, from 100 to 14,000 minutes a month, and billed on the minutes of the calls you receive.

When a bundle runs out, the service stops answering unless you buy more minutes or switch on overage, which costs a higher rate per minute, is off by default and can have a spending cap. BT emails your account administrator at 80% and 100% of your minutes. An optional one-hour education session from its partner ITEL costs £150, one-off.

The page also advertised 50% off the 100 and 300-minute packages for six months, for orders from 2 October to 20 November 2026.

Tilly's plans are £29, £59 and £149 a month, with 40, 150 or 400 calls included, then 50p, 50p or 50p for each extra call. Nothing stops answering when you go over: extra calls are added to your next invoice. Our guide to what an AI receptionist costs in the UK compares other providers too.

What BT AI Receptionist does

BT says its AI Receptionist answers calls 24/7, or only in your business hours if you prefer, and can handle several calls at once. It answers common questions, books appointments and meetings, captures leads and routes callers to the right person in your team. It can be trained on your website, FAQs or uploaded documents, and BT's leaflet says it refreshes what it knows when your website changes. BT says you can have as many AI receptionists as you need, on a monthly rolling contract.

BT's leaflet says AI Receptionist integrates with all voice solutions, fitting in with whatever business phone system you have in place.

Where Tilly is different

  • A price on the page. Three plans with the calls included and a set price for each extra call, so you know the cost before you start.
  • Priced by the call, not the minute. A long call costs the same as a short one, and sales calls she screens out are never counted.
  • A free trial you start yourself. Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial, with no card needed, and you can be answering calls within minutes.
  • Alerts straight to you. An email for every message and booking, and a text for urgent calls on Pro and Business.
  • British voices. 29 voices in 9 British and regional accents, including native Welsh speakers.

Which should you choose?

If your business phones are already with BT and you want everything from one supplier, BT's AI Receptionist may be the simpler choice. If you want to see the price before you buy, pay by the call and try it free today, Tilly is built for that. You can hear Tilly answer a call or read how set-up works.

Questions

How much does BT AI Receptionist cost?

BT's page does not show a monthly price. It says AI Receptionist is sold in 100-minute bundles, from 100 to 14,000 minutes a month, billed on the minutes of calls received, with an optional one-hour set-up session at £150. We checked this on 15 October 2026.

Is there a contract with BT AI Receptionist?

BT says the contract is monthly rolling, with no early termination. Tilly has no contract either: pay monthly or yearly and cancel online.

Can I try BT AI Receptionist for free?

BT's page offers a free demo. It does not mention a free trial. Every Tilly plan starts with a 14-day free trial, with no card needed.

Do I need BT phone lines to use it?

BT's page does not say. Its leaflet says AI Receptionist integrates with all voice solutions and fits in with whatever business phone system you have in place. Tilly works with UK mobiles, landlines and phone systems: forward your calls to her, or use the number that comes with your plan.

Is Tilly part of BT?

No. Tilly is not connected with BT or RingCentral in any way. BT and RingCentral are trade marks of their owners.

How we compared

  • Facts about BT Business come only from its own website, read on 15 October 2026, from the pages linked above. Prices and features change, so check with them before you buy.
  • We compared the cheapest plan each company publishes, at its standard price. Introductory offers can be lower.
  • All trade marks belong to their owners. Tilly is not connected with BT Business.
  • Spotted something wrong or out of date? Email hello@tillyanswers.co.uk and we will put it right.

Try Tilly free for 14 days

No card needed, no contract, and you can be answering calls within minutes.